• Open place

Keru Community Fridge

  • Service design
  • Sustainability
  • Food
When
Sep 6, Thu 08:00-20:00
Sep 7, Fri 08:00-22:00
Sep 8, Sat 10:00-16:00
Sep 9, Sun 10:00-16:00
Sep 10, Mon 08:00-20:00
Sep 11, Tue 08:00-20:00
Sep 12, Wed 08:00-20:00
Sep 13, Thu 08:00-20:00
Sep 14, Fri 08:00-19:00
Sep 15, Sat 10:00-16:00
Sep 16, Sun 10:00-16:00
Where
Kalliolan setlementtitalo, Sturenkatu 11, 00510 Helsinki
Event type
Free Admission
Accessibility for all
Yes

KERU is a non-profit open community fridge located at Setlementtitalo, in Kallio, Helsinki. It is a concept developed with the aim of reducing food waste and to support sustainable food culture. KERU offers an easy way to take part in solving the global food waste issue. It is open and free to everyone who wants to share and/or collect the food.

The project will begin with a pilot period starting from 3.9.2018 (continues until 2.12.2018). Design is an integral part of the KERU concept and experiment. The aim is to gain experience, develop the concept and find ways to continue the project on a regular basis after the trial period. This project is run by the Waste Food Crew – a group of designers, food activists and volunteers in collaboration with Setlementtiliitto. It is inspired by successful food sharing movements across Europe.

You are welcome to join the “Keru-kekkerit” opening event on Friday 7.9.2018 at 6-10 pm: enjoy inspiring talks, waste food cooking demos, live music and music more.

More information about the project: kerukaappi.fi

Additional information and inquiries by Waste Food Crew:
Heidi Uppa, heidi.uppa@aalto.fi, +358 50 320 5768


More information
Website
Facebook

Map

Subscribe to the Helsinki Design Weekly newsletter

Helsinki Design Weekly is an online design publication presenting timely phenomena in the field of design and raises discussion about the future of the industry bolstered by top writers on the front lines.