• Installation

HDW HOP: People's Architecture

  • Architecture
When
Sep 7, Thu 18:00-19:00
Sep 8, Fri 10:00-19:00
Sep 9, Sat 10:00-19:00
Sep 10, Sun 10:00-19:00
Sep 11, Mon 10:00-19:00
Sep 12, Tue 10:00-19:00
Sep 13, Wed 10:00-19:00
Sep 14, Thu 10:00-19:00
Sep 15, Fri 10:00-19:00
Sep 16, Sat 10:00-19:00
Sep 17, Sun 10:00-19:00
Where
Kolmensepänaukio, Aleksanterinkatu 23
Event type
Free Admission
Accessibility for all
Yes

People’s Architecture installation presents a transitional shelter designed by Taiwanese HSIEH Ying-Chun and CHIU Chen-Yu. The shelter and its building process represent the architects’ reflection on and solution for consumerism in today’s housing industry generally and European migrant crisis in particular.

HSIEH and his team have been working on numerous post-disaster reconstruction programs around the world to promote participatory, cooperative and sustainable building methods. They believe that everyone should be the “producers” of their own house, instead of “consumers”. Building a house by people can provide them a job and a place to live. The building process can help them to regain their socioeconomic status and reconstruct their community. To refugees, this can further nurture their ability and creativity for the future reconstruction work in their homeland.

People’s Architecture – a transitional shelter – will be built together by refugees, citizens and international students with the guidance of architects during Helsinki Design Week.

The installation is part of the HDW HOP City Installations. 
More information: www.architectureforpeople.org/exhibition/peoples-architecture

Map

Subscribe to the Helsinki Design Weekly newsletter

Helsinki Design Weekly is an online design publication presenting timely phenomena in the field of design and raises discussion about the future of the industry bolstered by top writers on the front lines.